Hope in pieces

Image

I know, I know, it has been while since I have blogged. There is good reason for that. The past month, I have been finishing up the quarter at school.   It was twistedly tough, then add to that, the car, the bills, work and so on. Well you get the picture. Oh ya, and I made the Dean’s list and I am feeling  like a super hero for it. Bring it on baby!

Anyway, tonight’s  topic is about something that has been happening the past year or so. Some of you may be able to relate. If not, I truly wish for it to happen to you. It happened again this morning when I was in a really low, scared head space. That is when it always seems to happen.

The dog wanted to be walked again before I left this morning. “Oh goody, I am sure they won’t mind me being late again this week.” How can you begrudge her though? Fine. I less than enthusiastically take her out, while thoughts of the day’s potential drama flash through my head. Am I going to have enough gas to get home tonight? My phone is off, what if I run out? How am I going to do this? We are out of cat food. Where does the money go? You know, the kind of thoughts that make you feel like a small insignificant fish in an enormous pond.

I am frustrated the dog is taking so long. I have seconds to get on the road to make it on time. She wants to go further than usual. Fine. Then I spy something on the black top, a flash of light in the brilliant sun. I recognize it’s glimmer immediately. It has become familiar, comforting,and just what I needed today.

A shiny, crystal clear marble.

This is number five. You see, every so often, when my emotions are not so good because life is at it’s worst, I find one. Each virtually identical save for surface variants. All of them especially shiny considering their surroundings. In a place that is unusual, yet right in my path.

Now a skeptic might say, “They are just marbles, they sell them everywhere, some kid probably lost it.” Sure, that could be true, but then explain how they are always exactly the same. Do children not play with multicolored marbles anymore? There must be an awful lot of little kids playing with clear marbles in parking lots, and even in my living room these days.  And boy, they definitely have precision to leave them right in my path.

So far I am up to five. Five brilliantly clear pieces of hope. I prefer to think they are a gift and a message from the “other world”. A pat on the back saying. “You’re going to be OK. Carry on.” To that I say “Thank you and keep them coming.”

What do you think dear readers? Anyone have a similar experience?

.

5 thoughts on “Hope in pieces

Leave a comment